The Premier Online Music & Entertainment Directory
  music minder
Search For:   
In Table:  
Home Entertainers Businesses About Contact
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
Home > Hits Menu > Hits List > "AGE OF REASON - ALBUM" by JOHN FARNHAM > Summary
« ListSummaryCreditsReviewsLyricsAudioLinksArtist »


Year Recorded: 1988
Age of Reason (album)

Age of Reason is a studio album by Australian pop singer John Farnham.

It was released in Australia on 25 July 1988 and debuted at No. 1 on the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Albums Chart in August and remained on top for eight weeks.

It was the follow up to his previous No. 1 album, Whispering Jack, and was the highest selling album in Australia in 1988.

As of 1997, it was 8x platinum indicating sales of over 0.56 million units.

It is also critically considered one of Farnham's best albums, with "Age of Reason" and "Beyond the Call" being about the urgency for the world to wake up and solve its problems.

Track listing:

"Age of Reason" (T. Hunter, J. Pigott) 4:58
"Blow by Blow" (D. Stewart, O. Ormo, B. Harrison) 4:37
"Listen to the Wind" (B. Thomas, J. Stevens) 4:26
"Two Strong Hearts" (B. Woolley, A. Hill) 3:35
"Burn Down the Night" (B. LaBounty) 3:32
"Beyond the Call" (D. Batteau, D. Brown, K. Dukes) 4:43
"We're No Angels" (R. Wilson) 4:52
"Don't Tell Me It Can't Be Done" (C. Thompson, A. Qunta) 3:35
"The Fire" (C. Thompson, K. Reid, Leiber) 4:26
"Some Do, Some Don't" (S. Hague, M. Mueller) 4:19
Bonus tracks on the CD version:

"When the War Is Over" (S.Prestwich) - 4:50
"It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock 'N' Roll)" (A. Young, M. Young, B. Scott) 4:11


John Farnham - vocals
David Hirschfelder - keyboards
Brett Garsed - guitars
Angus Burchall - drums & percussion
Wayne Nelson - bass
Venetta Fields - vocals
Lindsay Field - vocals
Jon Stevens - guitar on "Listen To The Wind"
James Morrison - trumpet on "Some Do, Some Don't"
Bill Harrower - sax on "Blow By Blow"
Thomas Metropouli - mandolin & piano accordion
Lisa Edwards - additional vocals
Ross Hannaford - additional vocals
Joe Creighton - additional vocals