music minder
The Premier Online
Music & Entertainment Directory
Search For:   
In Table:  
Home Entertainers Businesses About Contact
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
Home > On This Day Menu > List On This Day Events
ON THIS DAY
Search Results for Year: 1951


Click on an event title in the list below to view more information about that event.
Click on a date in the list to view a list of other events on the same date.
 
Number of Records Matching Query: 107
 
ALAN FREED - BROADCASTS
EVENT
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 July 1951
Description: Alan Freed broadcasts his first Rhythm and blues radio programme from station WJW in Cleveland
Summary: Disc jockey and music promoter Alan Freed broadcasts his first Rhythm and blues radio programme from station WJW in Cleveland, Ohio. Freed uses the term rock and roll to describe R&B, in an effort to introduce the music to a broader white audience.

BILL HALEY AND THE SADDLEMEN
EVENT
 
Event Date: Thursday 14 June 1951
Description: Bill Haley and His Saddlemen record their version of "Rocket 88",
Summary: Bill Haley and His Saddlemen record their version of "Rocket 88", combining the rhythm and blues arrangement of the original version (by Jackie Brentson and the Delta Cats) with country music trappings, considered by many music historians to be the first true rock and roll record. September 1952 Bill Haley and His Saddlemen change their image to become Bill Haley & His Comets

POPULAR TV SHOWS 1951
EVENT
 
Event Date: Monday 1 January 1951
Description: TOP TV SHOWS OF 1951
Summary: 1951-52 1 Arthur Godfrey's Talent Scouts CBS 2 The Texaco Star Theater NBC 3 I Love Lucy CBS 4 The Red Skelton Show NBC 5 The Colgate Comedy Hour NBC 6 Fireside Theatre NBC 7 The Jack Benny Program CBS 8 Your Show of Shows NBC 9 You Bet Your Life NBC 10 Arthur Godfrey and His Friends CBS 11 Mama CBS 12 Philco Television Playhouse NBC 13 Amos 'n' Andy CBS 14 Big Town CBS 15 Pabst Blue Ribbon Bouts CBS 16 Gillette Cavalcade of Sports NBC 17 The Alan Young Show CBS 18 All-Star Revue (tie) NBC 18 Dragnet (tie) NBC 20 Kraft Television Theatre NBC

JOHN APPLEBY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 25 August 1951
Description: Drummer, Australia

JEAN SMART
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 13 September 1951
Description: Actress, USA

LYNDA CARTER
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 24 July 1951
Description: Actress, Vocalist, USA

ANDY CHAPIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 7 February 1951
Description: Keyboardist, USA

KIRSTIE ALLEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 12 January 1951
Description: Actress, Comedy, USA

CATHERINE HICKS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 6 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

JAMES NEWTON HOWARD
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 9 June 1951
Description: Composer/musician/songwriter

BRUCE GARY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 7 April 1951
Description: Drummer, USA

ANTHONY DECURTIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 25 June 1951
Description: Journalist, Author, Critic, Columnist

ROBERT HEGYES
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 7 May 1951
Description: Actor. USA

DANA
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 30 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, Ireland

JOHNNY CONTARDO
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 23 December 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

JOHNNY RAWLS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 10 December 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, NZ

HARRY WAYNE CASEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 31 January 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

BRENTON FOSDIKE
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 26 February 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Australia

ROGER TROUTMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 29 November 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, US

MARTIN CHAMBERS
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 4 September 1951
Description: Drummer, UK

DEAN PAUL MARTIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 17 November 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actor, USA

MIK KAMINSKI
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 2 December 1951
Description: Violinist, UK

GREGORY ISAACS
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 15 July 1951
Description: Vocalist, UK

WAYNE OSMOND
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 28 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

DAN HARTMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 4 November 1951
Description: Instrumentalist, Producer, Composer, USA

DOUG BENNETT
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 31 October 1951
Description: Singer, Songwriter, Canada

TREMAINE HAWKINS
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 11 October 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

PAUL CARRACK
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 22 April 1951
Description: Keyboardist, Guitarist, UK

RAINER PTACET
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 7 June 1951
Description: Guitarist, Composer. USA

KURT RUSSELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 17 March 1951
Description: Actor, USA

TONY DANZA
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 21 April 1951
Description: Actor, Singer, USA

JACO PASTORIUS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 December 1951
Description: Bassist, USA

PHIL MANZANERA
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 31 January 1951
Description: Guitarist,UK

CHERYL LADD
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 12 July 1951
Description: Actress, Singer, USA

JANE SEYMOUR
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 15 February 1951
Description: Actress, UK

STEPHEN BISHOP
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 14 November 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Guitarist, USA

JOHN MELLENCAMP
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 7 October 1951
Description: Vocalist, Songwriter, Guitarist, USA

MICHAEL KEATON
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 9 September 1951
Description: Actor, USA

BOBBY CALDWELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 15 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Pianist,USA

BUSTA CHERRY JONES
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 14 January 1951
Description: Bassist, US

MELISSA MANCHESTER
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 15 February 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actress, Composer, USA

PAM DAUBER
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 18 October 1951
Description: Actress, Vocalist, USA

DAN FOGELBERG
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 13 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, USA

NICK GILDER
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 21 December 1951
Description: Vocalist

MARK HAMILL
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 25 September 1951
Description: Actor, USA

VICTOR WILLIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 1 July 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actor, USA

STEVE HARLEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 27 February 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

KAREN YOUNG
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 19 June 1951
Description: Vocalist,Composer, Canadian

STING
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 2 October 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, UK

CHRISTOPHER CROSS
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 3 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

PRESCOTT NILES
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 2 May 1951
Description: Bassist, US

MORRIS ALBERT
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 7 September 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Brazil

JOE RAMONE
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 19 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Drummer, USA

LARRY HOPPEN
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 12 January 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Songwriter. USA

KEVIN CRONIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 6 October 1951
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist, Actor, Composer, Piano, USA

DOUG MULRAY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 December 1951
Description: Radio host

JIMMIE VAUGHAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 March 1951
Description: Guitarist, USA

MEL SCHACHER
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 8 April 1951
Description: Bassist, USA

CRYSTAL GAYLE
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 9 January 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

COLIN BASS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 4 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Pianist, Bassist, Keyboardist, UK

KAREN YOUNG - US
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 23 March 1951
Description: Vocalist, Pianist, Composer, USA

BONNIE TYLER
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 8 June 1951
Description: Vocalist, UK

HENRY SPINETTI
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 31 March 1951
Description: Drummer, Wales

JANIS IAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 7 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

PHIL COLLINS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 1 January 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actor, Composer, UK

ALISTAIR HULETT
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 15 October 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Scotland

DAVID BRIGGS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 26 January 1951
Description: Guitariist, Australia

YVONNE ELLIMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 29 December 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

BILL GIBSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 13 November 1951
Description: Drummer, Vocalist, USA

DON WALKER
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 29 November 1951
Description: Pianist, Composer, Australia

LLOYD MAINES
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 28 June 1951
Description: Pedal Steel Guitar, Producer. USA

LUTHER VANDROSS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 20 April 1951
Description: Vocalist , USA

LA COSTA TUCKER
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 6 April 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

TOM WOLK
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 24 December 1951
Description: Bassist, US

DWIGHT TWILLEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 6 June 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

SCOTT GORHAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 17 March 1951
Description: Guitarist, USA

ROBIN WILLIAMS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 21 July 1951
Description: Actor, Comedian, USA

KARLA BONOFF
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 27 December 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer. USA

MIC CONWAY
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 15 February 1951
Description: Harmonica, ukulele, saw, tenor guitar, washboard, jug

PHILIP BAILEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 8 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

NILS LOFGREN
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 21 June 1951
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

TOM TERRELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 16 July 1951
Description: Journalist, Deejay, Promoter, USA

GLENN HUGHES - UK
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 21 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, Bass,, guitar, piano, trombone

ALEX BRILEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 12 April 1951
Description: Vocalist

PEABO BRYSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 13 April 1951
Description: Vocalist, USA

MIKE STOCK
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 3 December 1951
Description: Composer of songs, UK

BRAD DELP
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 12 June 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, USA

DONNIE DACUS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 12 October 1951
Description: Guitarist, Composer, USA

DARYL SOMERS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 6 August 1951
Description: Vocalist, TV Host, Drummer

CHRIS FRANTZ
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 8 May 1951
Description: Drums, percussion, USA

LARRY GOLDER
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 14 January 1951
Description: Guitarist, Arranger, Musical Director. Australia

JOHN DEACON
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 19 August 1951
Description: Bassist, UK

PAUL THOMPSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 13 May 1951
Description: Drummer, UK

RANDY CALIFORNIA
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 February 1951
Description: Guitarist, Composer. USA

LUCIE ARNAZ
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 17 July 1951
Description: Actress, USA

PAUL FOX
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 April 1951
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, UK

HUW LLOYD-LANGTON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 6 February 1951
Description: Guitarist, UK

BLONDIE CHAPLIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 7 July 1951
Description: Vocalist, Pianist, Composer, South Africa

NIC POTTER
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 18 October 1951
Description: Bassist, composer

STEVE HOFFMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 3 December 1951
Description: Record Mastering, USA

BILL FRISELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 18 March 1951
Description: Musician, composer, arranger, Guitarist, USA

LINDSAY COOPER
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 3 March 1951
Description: Bassoonist, UK

SID CATLETT
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 25 March 1951
Description: Drummer, USA

VIC BERTON
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 26 December 1951
Description: Drummer, USA

ARNOLD SCHOENBERG
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 13 July 1951
Description: Composer, Austria

FANNY BRICE
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 29 May 1951
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

EDDIE DUCHIN
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 9 February 1951
Description: Pianist, USA

 
 
 
 
 
Copyrights:
 
© Music Minder & Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
 
All rights reserved: Prosecution rights will be exercised for any breaches of copyright.