The Premier Online Music & Entertainment Directory
  music minder
Search For:   
In Table:  
Home Entertainers Businesses About Contact
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
 
 
Home > On This Day Menu > List On This Day Events

ON THIS DAY
Search Results for Year: 1953


Click on an event title in the list below to view more information about that event.
Click on a date in the list to view a list of other events on the same date.
 
Number of Records Matching Query: 92
 
HANK WILLIAMS DIES
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 1 January 1953
Description: At around midnight on January 1, 1953, Williams died while asleep in the back seat of his car. he was unresponsive and his body was becoming rigid
Summary: His funeral took place on January 4 at the Montgomery Auditorium. During the ceremony, Ernest Tubb sang "Beyond the Sunset" followed by Roy Acuff with "I Saw the Light" and Red Foley with "Peace in the Valley."

ROCKET 88
EVENT
 
Event Date: Tuesday 3 March 1953
Description: A rhythm and blues song that was first recorded at Sam Phillips. "first rock and roll song"
Summary: "Rocket 88" is a rhythm and blues song that was first recorded at Sam Phillips' recording studio in Memphis, Tennessee, on 3 March or 5 March 1951. Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats

FRANKIE LAINE SETS RECORD
EVENT
 
Event Date: Thursday 1 January 1953
Description: Frankie Laine sets the all-time United Kingdom record for weeks at Number One
Summary: Frankie Laine sets the all-time United Kingdom record for weeks at Number One in a given year on the UK Singles Chart, when his hit singles "Answer Me," "Hey Joe!" and "I Believe" held the top slot for 27 weeks: a little over half a year. "I Believe," which was Number One for 18 weeks also holds the all-time record for a single. Over 50 years later, both records still hold.

JOSEPH STALIN
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 5 March 1953
Description: Premier of the Soviet Union from 6 May 1941 to 5 March 1953.
Summary: Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin (18 December 1878 5 March 1953)

POPULAR TV SHOWS 1953
EVENT
 
Event Date: Thursday 1 January 1953
Description: TOP TV SHOWS OF 1953
Summary: 1953-54 1 I Love Lucy CBS 2 Dragnet NBC 3 Arthur Godfrey's Talent Scouts (tie) CBS 3 You Bet Your Life (tie) NBC 5 The Bob Hope Show NBC 6 The Buick-Berle Show NBC 7 Arthur Godfrey and His Friends CBS 8 The Ford Television Theater NBC 9 The Jackie Gleason Show CBS 10 Fireside Theatre NBC 11 The Colgate Comedy Hour (tie) NBC 11 This Is Your Life (tie) NBC 13 The Red Buttons Show CBS 14 The Life of Riley NBC 15 Our Miss Brooks CBS 16 Treasury Men in Action NBC 17 All-Star Revue (Martha Raye) NBC 18 The Jack Benny Program CBS 19 Gillette Cavalcade of Sports NBC 20 Philco Television Playhouse NBC

MARC HUNTER
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 7 September 1953
Description: Vocalist, Australia

HUGH MCDOWELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 31 July 1953
Description: Celloist, Pianist, UK

ROBERT CRAY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 August 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, USA

KURT MALOO
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 16 April 1953
Description: Singer-songwriter, composer, arranger, record producer

TIM ALLEN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 13 June 1953
Description: Actor, USA

MARY STEENBURGEN
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 8 February 1953
Description: Actress, USA

CYNDI LAUPER
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 20 June 1953
Description: Vocalist, USA

CHAKA KHAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 23 March 1953
Description: Vocalist, USA

BETTY WRIGHT
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 21 September 1953
Description: Vocalist,USA

BRUCE KULICK
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 12 December 1953
Description: Guitarst, SongwriterUSA

EARL KLUGH
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 16 September 1953
Description: Pianist,Jazz guitarist.

SHUGGIE OTIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 30 November 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, USA

ROBBIE BACHMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 18 February 1953
Description: Drummer, Canadian

BILLY BURNETTE
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 8 May 1953
Description: Guitarist, Vocalist, USA

GENE KELTON
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 10 April 1953
Description: Singer-songwriter, guitarist

MICHAEL HEDGES
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 31 December 1953
Description: Guitarist, Composer, USA

PAUL PLIMLEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 16 March 1953
Description: Pianist, vibraphonist, Canada

NED LIBEN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 18 April 1953
Description: Keyboards, US

DENNIS TAYLOR
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 13 November 1953
Description: Saxophonisit, Arranger and Author, USA

SAM KINISON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 8 December 1953
Description: Comedian, USA

JAMES CHANCE
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 20 April 1953
Description: Saxophonist, Composer. US

DANA KEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 30 December 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, USA

DANNY ELFMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 29 May 1953
Description: Composer, Singer, Record producer, Actor, Vocalist, USA

DESI ARNAZ JR
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 19 January 1953
Description: Actor, Drummer, USA

PIERCE BROSNAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 16 May 1953
Description: Actor, Ireland

BILLY LYALL
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 26 March 1953
Description: Keyboardist, Scotland

MIKE OLDFIELD
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 15 May 1953
Description: Multi Instrumentalist, Composer, Producer - UK

TODD CERNEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 8 August 1953
Description: Composer of music, USA

KATE CAPSHAW
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 3 November 1953
Description: Actress, US

DEBORAH RAFFIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 13 March 1953
Description: Actress, USA

KIM BASINGER
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 8 December 1953
Description: Actress, US

MARSHALL CRENSHAW
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 November 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Songwriter. USA

RENEE GEYER
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 11 September 1953
Description: Vocalist, Australia

JIM DIAMOND
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 28 September 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist

GREG HAM
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 27 September 1953
Description: Saxophonist, composer of song, Australia

DAVID BALL
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 9 July 1953
Description: Vocalist, USA

SEAN HOPPER
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 31 March 1953
Description: Keyboardist , Vocals, Actor

JIMMY MCCULLOCH
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 13 April 1953
Description: Guitarist, UK

HAL KETCHUM
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 9 April 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

ALESSI BROTHERS
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 12 July 1953
Description: Duo, USA

SAMANTHA SANG
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 5 August 1953
Description: Vocalist, Australia

DEREK PELLICCI
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 17 February 1953
Description: Drummer, Australia

JAMES WEST (GUITARIST)
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 18 December 1953
Description: Guitarist, Canada

PAT BENATAR
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 10 January 1953
Description: Vocalist,Composer, USA

BRUCE KAPLER
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 3 July 1953
Description: Saxophonist etc

RICKY WILSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 19 March 1953
Description: Guitarist, USA

TIM GAZE
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 8 August 1953
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist, Australia

KERRI-ANNE KENNERLY
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 22 September 1953
Description: TV Host, Vocalist, Australia

TITO JACKSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 15 October 1953
Description: Singer, songwriter, USA

MARCIA HINES
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 20 July 1953
Description: Vocalist, Australia

CHRISTOPHER FRANKE
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 6 April 1953
Description: Synthesizer, Composer, Germany

JOHN ZORN
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 2 September 1953
Description: Saxophonist, Composer, Clarinetist, USA

PETER GARRETT
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 16 April 1953
Description: Vocalist, Australia,

JIMMY LOVINE
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 March 1953
Description: Record Producer, USA

JOHNNE SAMBATARO
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 27 August 1953
Description: Vocalist,

ROCKY BURNETTE
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 13 June 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist , USA

MARTHA WASH
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 28 December 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

DAN BAIRD
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 12 December 1953
Description: Producer,USA

JOHN SCHUMANN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 18 May 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Guitarist, Australia

BILLY SHEEHAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 19 March 1953
Description: Bassist, USA

NANCI GRIFFITH
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 6 July 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

BOBBY WATSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 23 August 1953
Description: Saxophonist, USA

CARL CARLTON
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 21 May 1953
Description: Vocalist , Composer, USA

MARVIN ISLEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 18 August 1953
Description: Bassist, US

LARRY CASSIDY
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 18 April 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, UK

RONNIE DUNN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 1 June 1953
Description: Bassist, Vocalist, USA

LUCINDA WILLIAMS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 26 January 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist , Composer, USA

GEDDY LEE
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 29 July 1953
Description: Bassist, Musician, Songwriter, Producer, CA

ERIC JOHNSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 17 August 1953
Description: Guitarist, USA

ANDREW BISSET
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 January 1953
Description: Vocalist, Author,

BOBBY G
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 23 August 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, UK

CHARLOTTE CAFFEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 21 October 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, USA

NONI HAZLEHURST
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 17 August 1953
Description: Actress, Vocalist, Pianist, Australia

JIM THACKERY
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 19 May 1953
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist. USA

RICK FENN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 23 May 1953
Description: Guitarist, Composer, UK

KENNY ARONOFF
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 7 March 1953
Description: Drummer, USA

JUNE POINTER
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 30 November 1953
Description: Vocalist , USA

DON BLACKMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 1 September 1953
Description: Pianist, songwriter, producer

ALEX LIFESON
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 27 August 1953
Description: Guitarist, songwriter, Producer

BILL PULLMAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 17 December 1953
Description: Actor, USA

BENMONT TENCH
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 7 September 1953
Description: Pianist, Composer, USA

FRED E AHLERT
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 October 1953
Description: Composer of songs, USA

PETER DEROSE
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 23 April 1953
Description: Pianist, USA

BIG MACEO MERRIWEATHER
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 26 February 1953
Description: Pianist, US

DJANGO REINHARDT
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 16 May 1953
Description: Guitarist, Belgium

HANK WILLIAMS
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 1 January 1953
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

SERGEI PROKOFIEV - (1891-1953)
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 5 March 1953
Description: Pianist, Composer, Russian

 
 
 
 
 
Copyrights:
 
© Music Minder & Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
 
All rights reserved: Prosecution rights will be exercised for any breaches of copyright.