On This Day: Year=1956 | MusicMinder
music minder
The Premier Online
Music & Entertainment Directory
Search For:
In Table:
Home Entertainers Businesses About Contact
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
Home > On This Day Menu > List On This Day Events
ON THIS DAY
Search Results for Year: 1956


Click on an event title in the list below to view more information about that event.
Click on a date in the list to view a list of other events on the same date.
 
Number of Records Matching Query: 87
 
ELVIS SINGLE "HEARTBREAK HOTEL" GOES TO NO 1
EVENT
 
Event Date: Wednesday 25 April 1956

WHY DO FOOLS FALL INLOVE - 1956
EVENT
 
Event Date: Friday 29 June 1956
Description: FRANKIE LYMON AND THE TEENAGERS
Summary: "Why Do Fools Fall in Love" is a song that was originally a hit for early New York City-based rock and roll group Frankie Lymon & The Teenagers It reached No. 1 on the R&B chart,in 1956. The song was ranked #307 on the Rolling Stone magazine's list of The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

TELEVISION IN AUSTRALIA - 1956
EVENT
 
Event Date: Sunday 16 September 1956
Description: Australia began experimentally as early as 1929 in Melbourne with stations 3DB and 3UZ
Summary: Mainstream professional television was launched on 16 September 1956 in Sydney. The new medium was introduced by Bruce Gyngell with the words 'Good evening, and welcome to television. Television in Australia began experimentally as early as 1929 in Melbourne with stations 3DB and 3UZ using the Radiovision system by Gilbert Miles and Donal McDonald, and later from other locations, such as Brisbane in 1934. The first television broadcast in Australia took place on 30 September 1929 at the Menzies Hotel in Melbourne, using the electro-mechanical Radiovision system.[

LITTLE WILLIE JOHN
EVENT
 
Event Date: Sunday 3 June 1956
Description: "Fever" is a song written by Eddie Cooley and John Davenport and originally recorded by Little Willie John in 1956.
Summary: "Fever" is a song written by Eddie Cooley and John Davenport and originally recorded by Little Willie John in 1956. The song reached number one for three weeks on the R&B Best Sellers chart.

JOHN LENNON AND PAUL MCCARTNEY
EVENT
 
Event Date: Friday 15 June 1956
Summary: MET FOR THE FIRST TIME. 1956.

ROCK AROUND THE CLOCK - FILM
EVENT
 
Event Date: Sunday 25 November 1956
Description: 1956 Musical film that featured Bill Haley and His Comets
Summary: Rock Around the Clock is the title of a 1956 Musical film that featured Bill Haley and His Comets along with Alan Freed, The Platters, Tony Martinez and His Band, and Freddie Bell and His Bellboys. It was produced by B-movie king Sam Katzman (who would produce several Elvis Presley films in the 1960s) and directed by Fred F. Sears.

ELVIS PRESLEY
EVENT
 
Event Date: Tuesday 3 April 1956
Description: Presley made the first of two appearances on NBCs Milton Berle Show on April 3. 1956
Summary: Presley made the first of two appearances on NBC's Milton Berle Show on April 3.1956. His performance, on the deck of the USS Hancock in San Diego, prompted cheers and screams from an audience of sailors and their dates.

EUROVISION SONG CONTEST
EVENT
 
Event Date: Thursday 24 May 1956
Description: The first Contest was held in the town of Lugano, Switzerland, on 24 May 1956.
Summary: The Eurovision Song Contest (French: Concours Eurovision de la Chanson) is an annual competition held among active member countries of the European Broadcasting Union.

POPULAR TV SHOWS 1956
EVENT
 
Event Date: Sunday 1 January 1956
Description: TOP TV SHOWS OF 1956
Summary: 1956-57 1 I Love Lucy CBS 2 The Ed Sullivan Show CBS 3 General Electric Theater CBS 4 The $64,000 Question CBS 5 December Bride CBS 6 Alfred Hitchcock Presents CBS 7 I've Got a Secret (tie) CBS 7 Gunsmoke (tie) CBS 9 The Perry Como Show NBC 10 The Jack Benny Program CBS 11 Dragnet NBC 12 Arthur Godfrey's Talent Scouts CBS 13 The Millionaire (tie) CBS 13 Disneyland (tie) ABC 15 Shower of Stars CBS 16 The Lineup CBS 17 The Red Skelton Show CBS 18 You Bet Your Life NBC 19 The Life and Legend of Wyatt Earp ABC 20 Private Secretary CBS

SCOTT COLUMBUS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 10 November 1956
Description: Drummer, USA

ADRIANA XAENIDEZ
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 9 January 1956
Description: TV co host, Australia

MARK EVANS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 2 March 1956
Description: Bassist, Australia

DIANE WARREN
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 7 September 1956
Description: Composer

GREGORY PHILLINGANES
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 12 May 1956
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

MARGARET COLIN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 26 May 1956
Description: Actress, USA

LISA HARTMAN BLACK
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 1 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Actor, USA

MICHAEL SAXELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 1 October 1956
Description: Singer-songwriter, record producer, musician

ERNIE DINGO
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 31 July 1956
Description: Actor, Australian

DEBBY BOONE
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 22 September 1956
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

MAHALIA BARNES
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 12 July 1956
Description: Vocalist, Australia

BERNIE SHAW
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 15 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Canada

RONALD WINANS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 30 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, USA

LIZZY MERCIER DESCLOUX
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 16 December 1956
Description: Vocalist, French

JOHNNY FINGERS
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 10 September 1956
Description: Keyboardist, Ireland

MEL GIBSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 3 January 1956
Description: Actor, Director, Australia-American

BRIAN ROBERTSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 12 September 1956
Description: Guitarist, UK

PAUL WICKENS
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 27 March 1956
Description: Keyboards, Vocals, UK

SUZY BOGGUSS
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 30 December 1956
Description: Vocalist, Pianist, Guitarist, USA

ANDY COX
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 25 January 1956
Description: Guitarist, UK

GEENA DAVIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 21 January 1956
Description: Actress, USA

JOE SATRIANI
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 15 July 1956
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist, USA

LEE ROY PARNELL
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 21 December 1956
Description: Vocalist, Drummer, Guitarist,

LA TOYA JACKSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 29 May 1956
Description: Vocalist, USA

DWIGHT YOAKAM
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 23 February 1956
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist,Actor, Composer. USA

WILL SHATNER
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 10 June 1956
Description: Bassist, USA

LINDA HAMILTON
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 26 September 1956
Description: Actress, USA

BRIAN ROBERTSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 12 September 1956
Description: Guitarist, UK

BOB HOWE
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 22 December 1956
Description: Guitarist, Composer, Australia

RANDY RHOADS
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 6 December 1956
Description: Guitarist, USA

CARRIE FISHER
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 21 October 1956
Description: Actress, Author, USA

JIMMY BARNES
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 28 April 1956
Description: Vocalist, Australia

MICKEY ROURKE
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 16 September 1956
Description: Actor, Professional boxer, Music, USA

PAUL YOUNG
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 17 January 1956
Description: Vocalist,UK

BERNIE SHAW
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 15 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Canada

KENNY G
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 5 June 1956
Description: Saxophonist, USA

ANDY GARCIA
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 12 April 1956
Description: Actor, USA

BRANSCOMBE RICHMOND
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 8 August 1956
Description: Vocalist , Actor

GARY COLE
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 20 September 1956
Description: Actor, USA

AMII STEWART
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 29 January 1956
Description: Vocalist, USA

BO DEREK
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 November 1956
Description: Actress, USA

BRYAN CRANSTON
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 7 March 1956
Description: Actor, USA

LARRY BOONE
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 7 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

PETER BUCK
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 6 December 1956
Description: Guitarist, USA

MICK JONES
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 26 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, UK

MEGAN WILLIAMS
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 11 September 1956
Description: Vocalist, Australia

FREDDIE JACKSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 2 October 1956
Description: Vocalist, Producer, Composer

BLACKIE LAWLESS
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 4 September 1956
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist, USA

DENIESE MORRISON
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 21 April 1956
Description: Vocalist, Australia

STEPHANIE ZIMBALIST
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 8 October 1956
Description: Actress, USA

WARREN CUCCURULLO
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 8 December 1956
Description: Guitarist, Electric Sitarist, USA

CHRIS ISAAK
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 26 June 1956
Description: Vocalist , Guitarist, Composer, USA

JAMES INGRAM
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 16 February 1956
Description: Vocalist, Producer, Composer, Pianist, USA

TEENA MARIE
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 5 March 1956
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

ED KUEPPER
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 25 April 1956
Description: Guitarist, Songwriter, Instrumentalist, Record producer, Australia

STEVE RILEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 22 January 1956
Description: Drummer, USA

IAN CURTIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 15 July 1956
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Keyboardist, Composer

BERNIE SHAW
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 15 June 1956
Description: Vocalist, Canada

JENNY MORRIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 29 September 1956
Description: Songwriter, singer

DANNY GANS
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 25 October 1956
Description: Vocalist, Comedian, USA

MATT AITKEN
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 25 August 1956
Description: Composer of songs, UK

JIM MOGINIE
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 18 May 1956
Description: Keyboardist, Australia

T LAVITZ
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 16 April 1956
Description: Keyboardist, Composer and Producer, USA

SIMON BINKS
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 27 November 1956
Description: Guitarist, Australia,

SHARON JONES
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 4 May 1956
Description: Vocalist, USA

BRIAN ROBERTSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 12 September 1956
Description: Guitarist, UK

MANDAWUY YUNUPINGU
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 17 September 1956
Description: Aboriginal Australian musician and educator

JOHN JORGENSON
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 6 July 1956
Description: Virtuoso guitarist, composer, arranger, songwriter, and professional touring musician.

FRANK TRUMBAUER
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 11 June 1956
Description: Saxophonist, Band Leader, USA

VICTOR YOUNG
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 10 November 1956
Description: Composer, arranger, violinist and conductor, USA

TOMMY JOHNSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 1 November 1956
Description: Vocalist, USA

ART TATUM
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 5 November 1956
Description: Pianist, US

MORT DIXON
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 23 March 1956
Description: Lyricist, USA

CLIFFORD BROWN
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 26 June 1956
Description: Trumpeter, USA

ISHAM JONES
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 19 October 1956
Description: Saxophonist, Violinist,Arranger, Composer, USA

TOMMY DORSEY
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 26 November 1956
Description: Trombonist, USA

ALBERT VON TILZER
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 1 October 1956
Description: Pianist, Composer, USA

JEAN SCHWARTZ
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 30 November 1956
Description: Pianist, Composer, Lyricist, USA

 
 
 
 

 
Disclaimer:
 
Music Minder takes as much care as possible to check the accuracy of the information provided. However, we can not guarantee the absolute accuracy of any material provided. If you have any information different to or in addition to that provided by our site, we encourage you to contact us.
 
Please direct all enquiries to enquiries@musicminder.com
 
 
 
Copyrights:
 
© Music Minder & Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
 
All rights reserved: Prosecution rights will be exercised for any breaches of copyright.