On This Day: Year=1983 | MusicMinder
music minder
The Premier Online
Music & Entertainment Directory
Search For:
In Table:
Home Entertainers Businesses About Contact
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
Home > On This Day Menu > List On This Day Events
ON THIS DAY
Search Results for Year: 1983


Click on an event title in the list below to view more information about that event.
Click on a date in the list to view a list of other events on the same date.
 
Number of Records Matching Query: 59
 
ARIA MUSIC AWARD
EVENT
 
Event Date: Wednesday 2 March 1983
Description: The Australian Recording Industry Association Music Awards
Summary: The Australian Recording Industry Association Music Awards (commonly known as ARIA Music Awards or ARIA Awards) is an annual series of awards nights celebrating the Australian music industry, put on by the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA). The event has been held annually since 1987.

AMERICAS CUP-1983
EVENT
 
Event Date: Monday 26 December 1983
Description: 1983 Americas Cup, Australia II
Summary: Australia II, skippered by John Bertrand, faced Dennis Conner sailing the 12-metre Liberty in the ocean off Newport, Rhode Island. Australia II came from behind to prevail 4 races to 3. Captained by John Bertrand, she was the first successful Cup challenger, ending a 132-year tenure (with 26 successful defenses) by the New York Yacht Club. Designed by Ben Lexcen, built by Steve Ward, owned by Alan Bond and helmed by John Bertrand.

BILLY FURY - DIES
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 28 January 1983
Description: Billy Fury died in the afternoon at 2.10pm. He was 42 years old.
Summary: An early British rock and roll and film star, he equalled The Beatles' record of 24 hits in the 1960s. Wycherley was born at Smithdown Hospital (later Sefton General Hospital, now demolished), Smithdown Road, Liverpool.

TWO CABLE NETWORKS SIGN ON AIR
EVENT
 
Event Date: Tuesday 1 March 1983
Description: In a span of two days, two major cable networks signed on the air.
Summary: In a span of two days, two major cable networks signed on the air. Country Music Television (aka CMT) went on-the-air March 5, while The Nashville Network (TNN) came on two days later on March 7. CMT (originally called "CMTV")was chiefly video-oriented, while TNN offered more feature-oriented programming.

THE AMERICAS CUP 1983 AUSTRALIA
EVENT
 
Event Date: Monday 26 September 1983
Description: Alan Bond arrived at Newport with Australia II, billed as one of the biggest threats to American dominance of the 12 Metre class
Summary: The 1983 America's Cup was the occasion of the first winning challenge to the New York Yacht Club who had successfully defended the cup over a period of 132 years. An Australian syndicate representing the Royal Perth Yacht Club won the match races to win the America's Cup which ended the longest winning streak in sporting history

POPULAR TV SHOWS 1983
EVENT
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 January 1983
Description: TOP TV SHOWS OF 1983
Summary: 1983-1984 Dallas 60 Minutes Dynasty The A-Team Simon & Simon Magnum, P.I. Falcon Crest Kate & Allie Hotel Cagney & Lacey Knots Landing (tie) ABC Sunday Movie (tie) ABC Monday Movie TV's Bloopers & Practical Jokes AfterMASH The Fall Guy The Love Boat Riptide The Jeffersons Scarecrow & Mrs. King

KATRINA ELAM
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 12 December 1983
Description: Vocalist , Composer, USA

LAURA IMBRUGLIA
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 15 June 1983
Description: Vocalist , Composer, Australia

JESSICA ANDREWS
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 29 December 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

MICHELLE BRANCH
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 2 July 1983
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, Actress USA

HOLLY VALANCE
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 May 1983
Description: Vocalist, Actress, Australia

KATY STEELE
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 9 September 1983
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Australia

MISSY HIGGINS
BORN
 
Event Date: Friday 19 August 1983
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Australia

EMMA DEAN
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 14 November 1983
Description: Vocalist, Violinist, Pianist, Australian

CARRIE UNDERWOOD
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 10 March 1983
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

AMY WINEHOUSE
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 14 September 1983
Description: Vocalist, Composer, UK

RIHANNA
BORN
 
Event Date: Monday 7 February 1983
Description: Vocalist, UK

MIKA
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 18 August 1983
Description: Vocalist, keyboards, UK

CHERYL COLE
BORN
 
Event Date: Thursday 30 June 1983
Description: Vocalist, Songwriter, UK

GOLDIE HARVEY
BORN
 
Event Date: Sunday 23 October 1983
Description: Vocalist, Nigeria

MIRANDA KERR
BORN
 
Event Date: Wednesday 20 April 1983
Description: Model, Australian

JOHNNY LEWIS
BORN
 
Event Date: Saturday 29 October 1983
Description: Actor, USA

GIA ALLEMAND
BORN
 
Event Date: Tuesday 20 December 1983
Description: Actress, Model, USA

TOM EVANS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 19 November 1983
Description: Singer, songwriter

LAMAR WILLIAMS
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 25 January 1983
Description: Bassist, USA

IRA GERSHWIN
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 17 August 1983
Description: Pianist, Composer, USA

JIMMY LIGGINS
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 18 July 1983
Description: Guitarist, US

BILLY FURY
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 28 January 1983
Description: Vocalist, UK

MURRAY CUTTER
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 19 April 1983
Description: Orchestrator of film

KAI WINDING
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 6 May 1983
Description: Trombonist, Band Leader, USA

EARL HINES
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 23 April 1983
Description: Pianist, USA

SANDRA TILLY
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 9 September 1983
Description: Vocalist

CAROLYN LEIGH
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 19 November 1983
Description: Songwriter, Lyrisist, USA

WALTER JACKSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 20 June 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

ROY MILTON
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 18 September 1983
Description: Drummer, USA

CLIFF TRENIER
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 2 March 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

FELIX PAPPALARDI
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 17 April 1983
Description: Bassist, Composer, Producer

ROOSEVELT SYKES
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 17 July 1983
Description: Pianist, USA

HARRY JAMES
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 5 July 1983
Description: Trumpeter, Band leader, USA

JAMES BOOKER
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 8 November 1983
Description: Vocalist, pianist, USA

DANNY RAPP
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 5 April 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

KAREN CARPENTER
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 4 May 1983
Description: Vocalist, Dummer, USA

JAMES JAMERSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 2 August 1983
Description: Bassist, USA

KLAYS NOMI
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 14 August 1983
Description: Vocalist

DON COSTA
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 19 January 1983
Description: Guitarist, Band Leader, Arranger, Producer, USA

DENNIS WILSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 28 December 1983
Description: Drummer, Vocalist, Producer, USA

MUDDY WATERS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 30 April 1983
Description: Guitarist, USA

CLARENCE QUICK
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 5 May 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

CHRIS WOOD
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 12 July 1983
Description: Saxophonist, flautist, UK

GLORIA SWANSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 4 April 1983
Description: Actress, USA

MERLE TRAVIS
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 20 October 1983
Description: Vocalist, USA

STAN ROGERS
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 2 June 1983
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Canada

NORMA SHEARER
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 12 June 1983
Description: Actress, USA

DAVID NIVEN
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 29 July 1983
Description: Actor, UK

TEX MORTON
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 23 August 1983
Description: Vocalist, Songwriter, New Zealand

WINIFRED ATWELL
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 28 February 1983
Description: Pianist, Australia

EUBIE BLAKE
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 12 February 1983
Description: Composer, lyricist, and pianist

REBOB KWAKU BAAH
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 12 January 1983
Description: Percussionist, Ghanaian

JOAN HACKETT
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 8 October 1983
Description: Actress, USA

 
 
 
 

 
Disclaimer:
 
Music Minder takes as much care as possible to check the accuracy of the information provided. However, we can not guarantee the absolute accuracy of any material provided. If you have any information different to or in addition to that provided by our site, we encourage you to contact us.
 
Please direct all enquiries to enquiries@musicminder.com
 
 
 
Copyrights:
 
© Music Minder & Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
 
All rights reserved: Prosecution rights will be exercised for any breaches of copyright.