On This Day: Year=2001 | MusicMinder
musicminder
The Premier Online Music & Entertainment Resource Directory
Search For:
In Table:
Home About Us Contact Us Businesses Entertainers
Albums Birthdates Hits Instruments Lyrics Memorials On This Day
Home > On This Day Menu > List On This Day Events
ON THIS DAY
Search Results for Year: 2001


Click on an event title in the list below to view more information about that event.
Click on a date in the list to view a list of other events on the same date.
 
Number of Records Matching Query: 62
 
SIR DONALD BRADMAN - DIES
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 25 December 2001
Description: Bradman consistently scored at a level that made him, in the words of former Australia captain Bill Woodfull, "worth three batsmen to Australia".[
Summary: Sir Donald George Bradman, AC. "The Don", was an Australian cricketer, widely acknowledged as the greatest batsman of all time. Bradman's career Test batting average of 99.94 has been claimed to be statistically the greatest achievement in any major sport. Died in South Australia,aged 92.

WORLD TRADE CENTRE 9.11
EVENT
 
Event Date: Tuesday 11 September 2001
Description: On the morning of September 11, 2001, Al-Qaeda-affiliated hijackers flew two 767 jets into the complex.
Summary: On the morning of September 11, 2001, Al-Qaeda-affiliated hijackers flew two 767 jets into the complex, one into each tower, in a coordinated terrorist attack. The South Tower (2) collapsed, followed a half-hour later by the North Tower, with the attacks on the World Trade Center resulting in 2,753 deaths.

SEPTEMBER 11 ATACKS
EVENT
 
Event Date: Tuesday 11 September 2001
Description: September 11, 2001, 19 hijackers took control of four commercial airliners en route to San Francisco and Los Angeles after takeoff from Boston, Newark, and Washington, D.C.
Summary: The September 11 attacks (called suicide attacks against the United States on Tuesday, September 11, 2001. At 8:46 a.m. September 11 crashed American Airlines Flight 11 into the World Trade Center.

GEORGE HARRISON DIES
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 29 November 2001
Description: The death of Beatle George Harrison
Summary: George Harrison died on 29 November 2001, at a Hollywood Hills mansion that was once previously owned by Courtney Love. The cause of death was listed on his Los Angeles County death certificate as "metastatic non-small cell lung cancer". He was cremated at Hollywood Forever Cemetery and his ashes were scattered in the Ganges River by his close family in a private ceremony according to Hindu tradition. He left almost 100 million in his will.

RONNIE HILTON
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 21 February 2001
Description: Vocalist, UK

KAL MANN
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 28 November 2001
Description: Composer of songs, USA

JACK LEMMON
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 27 June 2001
Description: Actor, USA

PEGGY LEE
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 21 January 2001
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

JIMMIE LOGSDON
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 10 November 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

TED MULRY
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 September 2001
Description: Vocalist , Composer, Australia

DOROTHY MCGUIRE
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 13 September 2001
Description: Actress, USA

CHET ATKINS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 30 June 2001
Description: Guitarist, USA

MELANIE THORNTON
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 24 November 2001
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

BUDDY STARCHER
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 2 November 2001
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

JOHN HARTFORD
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 4 June 2001
Description: Vocalist, Composer, USA

OC SMITH
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 23 November 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

ANTHONY QUINN
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 3 June 2001
Description: Actor, USA

PETER DOYLE
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 13 October 2001
Description: Vocalist, Australia

GRADY MARTIN
DIED
 
Event Date: Monday 3 December 2001
Description: Guitarist, USA

DAVID "PANAMA" FRANCIS
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 13 November 2001
Description: Drummer, USA

GILBERT BECAUD
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 18 December 2001
Description: Vocalist, France

JOHN PHILLIPS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 18 August 2001
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist , USA

TERRY WILSHIRE
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 1 July 2001
Description: Vocalist, Bassist, Guitarist, Australia.

GAIL COBE
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 1 August 2001
Description: Actress. producer, USA

DARRYL SAMBELL
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 19 September 2001
Description: Manager, Promoter, Australia

FOSTER BROOKS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 20 January 2001
Description: Comedian, USA

GEORGE HARRISON
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 30 November 2001
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, UK

JOHN LEE HOOKER
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 21 June 2001
Description: Guitarist, USA

ISAAC STERN
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 22 September 2001
Description: Violinist, USA

JOE HENDERSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 30 June 2001
Description: Saxophonist, USA

JOE RAMONE
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 15 April 2001
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Drummer, USA

IMOGENE COCA
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 2 June 2001
Description: Actress

PERRY COMO
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 12 May 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

RON TOWSON
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 2 August 2001
Description: Vocalist

JOHN FAHEY
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 22 February 2001
Description: Guitaris,USA

ANN SOTHERN
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 15 March 2001
Description: Actress, Comedienne, USA

DALE EVANS
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 25 March 2001
Description: Vocalist, Actress, USA

DAVE PINCOMBE
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 12 October 2001
Description: Vocalist, Guitarist, Composer, Australia

RUFUS THOMAS
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 15 December 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

AL HIBLER
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 24 April 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

HARRY SECOMBE
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 11 April 2001
Description: Vocalist , Actor , Welsh

ERIC ALLENDALE
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 23 August 2001
Description: Trombone, West Indies

TROY DONAHUE
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 2 September 2001
Description: Actor,USA

CARROLL OCONNOR
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 21 July 2001
Description: Actor, USA

LES BROWN
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 4 January 2001
Description: Band Leader, Saxophonist, Actor, USA

WILLIAM HANNA
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 22 March 2001
Description: Animator, Cartoonist

GLENN HUGHES
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 4 March 2001
Description: Vocalist, USA

GRAEME STRACHAN
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 29 August 2001
Description: Vocalist, Australian

MANNY ALBAM
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 2 October 2001
Description: Saxophonist, Teacher, Arranger, USA

TED MULRY GANG
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 1 September 2001
Description: Band, Australia

MILT GABLER
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 20 July 2001
Description: Record Producer, USA

JUNE SALTER
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 15 September 2001
Description: Actress, Australia

JANE GREER
DIED
 
Event Date: Friday 24 August 2001
Description: Vocalist, Actress, Model, USA

NORMAN GRANZ
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 22 November 2001
Description: Record producer, USA

JOSEPH BROOKS
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 22 May 2001
Description: Composer, Screenwriter, Director, Producer, Musician, USA

JUDY CLAY
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 19 July 2001
Description: Vocalist , Composer, USA

FRANKIE CARLE
DIED
 
Event Date: Wednesday 7 March 2001
Description: Band Leader, Pianist, USA

JOHNNY RUSSELL
DIED
 
Event Date: Tuesday 3 July 2001
Description: Vocalist, Composer, Comedian, USA

JON LEE - (DRUMMER)
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 7 January 2001
Description: Guitarist, Drummer, USA

DON BRADMAN
DIED
 
Event Date: Sunday 25 February 2001
Description: An Australian cricketer, Australia

JAMES E MYERS
DIED
 
Event Date: Thursday 10 May 2001
Description: American songwriter, actor, producer, and raconteur.

JUNE SALTER
DIED
 
Event Date: Saturday 15 September 2001
Description: Actress, Australia

 
 
 
 

 
Disclaimer:
 
Music Minder takes as much care as possible to check the accuracy of the information provided. However, we can not guarantee the absolute accuracy of any material provided. If you have any information different to or in addition to that provided by our site, we encourage you to contact us.
 
Please direct all enquiries to enquiries@musicminder.com
 
 
 
Copyrights:
 
Web Site Concept & Content © Music Minder Promotions
Web Site Design © Music Minder Promotions & Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
Technical Concepts, Database Development, & Programming © Mark Reynolds IT Consulting
 
All rights reserved: Prosecution rights will be exercised for any breaches of copyright.